Last month the New Jersey Economic Development Authority (NJEDA) announced that it would begin taking applications for tax credits through New Jersey's Offshore Wind Tax Credit Program (the "Program") from businesses that make a capital investment of at least $50 million dollars in certain qualified offshore wind facilities within Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem, Cumberland, Mercer or Cape May counties.
Yesterday, Governor Murphy signed A3975 into law, significantly expanding the New Jersey Family Leave Act (FLA) and Family Leave Insurance (FLI) programs to provide greater benefits to workers including additional time off, higher compensation, and increasing the class of individuals who qualify for leave.
The primary benefit of using a corporate entity to conduct business is the limited liability protection afforded to its owners. Corporations, limited liability companies, and other such entities are recognized as legally distinct and separate from their owner(s). As a result, the owner’s personal assets are shielded from any liability for the entity’s debts. This principle applies equally whether in the context of a parent company using a subsidiary entity for a particular venture or in the case of an individual using an entity to operate a new business.
On February 19, 2019, the New Jersey Economic Development Authority ("NJEDA") announced the expansion of the existing Business Lease Incentive Program (commonly known as the "BLI Program").
Employers often implement binding arbitration policies as a way to avoid litigating claims in court. Many employers prefer arbitration because it can be confidential, less costly, and consume significantly less time than a trial. A recent decision from the New Jersey Appellate Division highlights how one word can make or break the enforceability of such policies.
On February 4, 2019, Governor Phil Murphy signed legislation to increase New Jersey’s hourly minimum wage rate from $8 to $15 (“A-15”). A discussion of key provisions of A-15 can be found here.
In addition to increasing the minimum wage, A-15 allows employers (“Employer”) who employ persons with impairments to receive up to $10 million in tax credits (“Tax Credits”) to offset the cost to an Employer of any increases in wages and payroll taxes for an impaired employee as a result of A-15.
In accordance with an agreement reached between the Governor and legislative leaders earlier this month, the New Jersey Legislature approved legislation, A-15 (the “Bill”), on January 31, 2019 to increase the state hourly minimum wage requirement from $8.85 to $15 over a five (5) year period. The Governor is expected to sign the Bill into law on Monday, February 4, 2019.