This afternoon, Governor Phil Murphy and New Jersey Legislative Leaders reached a deal that, if approved by the full legislature and signed into law by the Governor, will, over a period of five (5) years, raise the minimum wage rate in New Jersey to $15 per hour for most businesses (reaching $15 per hour in 2024).
The phase-in will occur on a slower basis for seasonal employers, some small businesses (under six (6) employees) and farm workers (with minimum wage for farm workers capped at $12.50 per hour unless an economic analysis and legislative approval is provided for any farm worker minimum wage rate over $12.50 per hour).
Legislation memorializing the above is expected to be heard before the Assembly Labor Committee on Thursday, January 24, 2019.
Parker McCay will provide further updates as additional details emerge and legislative action is taken.
The content of this post is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice or legal opinion. You should consult a lawyer concerning your specific situation and any specific legal question you may have.