Memorial Day weekend marks the unofficial start of the summer season along the Jersey Shore. As the tourist season begins in earnest, the New Jersey Legislature is working quickly to pass legislative fixes intended to alleviate aspects of New Jersey's 11.65% tax on short-term rental properties located within the State (referred to colloquially as the "Airbnb Tax").
Yesterday, Governor Murphy signed A3975 into law, significantly expanding the New Jersey Family Leave Act (FLA) and Family Leave Insurance (FLI) programs to provide greater benefits to workers including additional time off, higher compensation, and increasing the class of individuals who qualify for leave.
On February 19, 2019, the New Jersey Economic Development Authority ("NJEDA") announced the expansion of the existing Business Lease Incentive Program (commonly known as the "BLI Program").
In accordance with an agreement reached between the Governor and legislative leaders earlier this month, the New Jersey Legislature approved legislation, A-15 (the “Bill”), on January 31, 2019 to increase the state hourly minimum wage requirement from $8.85 to $15 over a five (5) year period. The Governor is expected to sign the Bill into law on Monday, February 4, 2019.
On January 17, 2019, Governor Phil Murphy and Legislative Leaders announced the collective decision to raise the minimum wage rate in New Jersey from $8.85 per hour to $15 per hour for most businesses over a five (5) year period. On January 24, 2019, the New Jersey Assembly's Labor Committee approved legislation (Assembly Bill A-15) that would implement the minimum wage increase. If approved by other Legislative Committees, passed by both the full Assembly and Senate, and signed into law by the Governor in its present form, key provisions of Bill A-15 include the following
In two recent decisions, the Public Employment Relations Commission (PERC) required school boards to continue paying employees the salary increases as written in their three-year contracts, even after those contracts have expired, disrupting the longstanding practice of withholding salary increments during negotiations until a new contract is formed.
This afternoon, Governor Phil Murphy and New Jersey Legislative Leaders reached a deal that, if approved by the full legislature and signed into law by the Governor, will, over a period of five (5) years, raise the minimum wage rate in New Jersey to $15 per hour for most businesses (reaching $15 per hour in 2024).
Aging infrastructure, rising sea levels, polluted stormwater runoff, and the impact of more intense weather events have created an urgent need for New Jersey to address its stormwater infrastructure.
For employers and small business owners, employee sick time is no sneezing matter. At least one study suggests that employees who come to work sick cost the country over $160 billion dollars in lost or lowered productivity.