Last week, Governor Murphy signed Senate bill 2000 into law, amending New Jersey’s Wage Payment Law, N.J.S.A. 34:11-4.6, which required private employers to provide certain information regarding deductions taken from their paychecks.
With new amendments to the Law Against Discrimination (“LAD”) signed into law last month, New Jersey became the third state in the country to prohibit discrimination against a person’s hair style.
On January 3, 2020, the New Jersey Appellate Division issued the first published opinion interpreting the Pregnant Workers Fairness Act (the “PWFA”). Effective January 17, 2014, the PWFA amended the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (the “LAD”), prohibiting employment discrimination on the basis of pregnancy and breastfeeding.
Last month, the Appellate Division determined that provisions in a teachers' union contract that allowed two teachers to collect their full pay and benefits for days when they did not teach but instead performed union duties were unenforceable.
The U.S. Department of Labor announced today a final rule that updates the FLSA overtime regulations. The rule updates the earnings thresholds necessary to exempt executive, administrative, or professional employees from the FLSA's minimum wage and overtime pay requirements.
Client Alert! On August 8, 2019, the U.S. Department of Labor ("DOL") issued an opinion letter in which the DOL concluded that the Family and Medical Leave Act ("FMLA") covers a parent’s attendance at his/her child’s individualized education ("IEP") meeting at school.
On August 6, 2019 Acting Governor Shelia Oliver signed the Wage Theft Act into law. The law revised New Jersey wage and hour laws to include new civil and criminal penalties for failure to pay compensation and benefits, pensions, medical treatment, disability benefits, and workers' compensation.
On July 25, 2019, New Jersey Acting Gov. Sheila Oliver signed A1094 into law, which amends the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination to prevent employers from asking about workers’ wages and salary histories.
In February of 2019, Governor Murphy signed a bill that gradually increases the minimum wage, over the span of multiple years, to $15.00 per hour. The minimum wage for most employees is currently $8.85 per hour. However, the minimum wage will increase on July 1, 2019.
In February of this year, Governor Phil Murphy signed a bill that expanded the Family Leave Act. While some of the expansion took effect immediately, other changes are phased in.