Main Menu

John C. Gillespie Receives Professional Lawyer of the Year 2019 Award

September 6, 2019

Mount Laurel, N.J.  John C. Gillespie, a Parker McCay shareholder, executive committee member, and chair of the municipal and government practice group, has been named Professional Lawyer of the Year by the Burlington County Bar Association (“BCBA”) and Commission on Professionalism in the Law.

Gillespie began his law career 40 years ago and is being recognized for his extensive professional accomplishments and community service contributions. He was nominated based on his passion for the law, his impressive courtroom skills, and his courtesy and professionalism toward his legal adversaries and peers. Gillespie served two terms as a BCBA trustee and previously accepted its highest honor, the Haines Award, in 2015 as well as the Robert W. Criscuolo Award in 1990. He is the first to receive all three honors from the BCBA.

Gillespie concentrates his practice in the areas of municipal law, governmental defense litigation, land use, and redevelopment. He is a prolific writer and speaker on matters concerning municipal law and ethics. He currently serves on the Boards of the Burlington County Regional Chamber of Commerce and the Virtua Health Foundation. He is a past Chairman of the Board of Samaritan Healthcare and Hospice and the Whitesbog Preservation Trust. Gillespie is President of the New Jersey Institute of Local Government Attorneys; Associate Counsel to the New Jersey State League of Municipalities; and Third Circuit Regional Vice President of the International Municipal Lawyers Association.

“John sets the standard for excellence and integrity in the legal profession and is well deserving of this honor,” said Philip A. Norcross, CEO and Managing Shareholder. “He passionately represents his clients, is committed to legal scholarship, and dutifully serves his community.  We are fortunate to have his leadership at the firm.”

All New Jersey county bar associations will honor their annual Professional Lawyer of the Year winners at an event in late October.


Related Information


Practice Areas

Back to Page